Fish Fryday #4: American Legion Post 211

Another Friday closer to Easter and another American Legion visited.  This week, Avon Lake’s Post 211.

The Avon Lake Legion offers a selection of dinners featuring perch, salmon, and a surf and turf, among others.  Reubens and other sandwiches are also available.  Dinners include a salad bar, choice of fries or potato pancakes, soft drinks, and dessert.

I ordered the all-you-can-eat perch dinner, which seemed like the most popular choice.

While waiting for our dinners, we went through the salad bar.  I got excited when I saw the coleslaw and potato salad and loaded up on those rather than salad.  But the excitement was short lived.

The coleslaw tasted like a typical Giant Eagle-esque coleslaw.  It was very creamy and had a little extra spice to it.  Good but nothing special.

Then I tried the potato salad.  The potato salad tasted homemade.  The potatoes were a little firmer, which I liked.  A mild sauce added enough flavor without drowning out the taste of potatoes.  I wanted to like it, I probably would have liked it…had I not stopped after one bite.  The potato salad was warm.  I don’t know if it was supposed to be or if it had been sitting out too long.  And I didn’t want to chance it.  Food poisoning isn’t fun.

After we finished our salads, we had about a 45 minute wait for our dinners.

The perch tasted great, with a buttery sweetness.  Breading added flavor and a little texture.  The fries had a crisp outside and soft inside and were good with or without any extra seasoning or ketchup.  Possibly the best fries so far.

For dessert they had cakes (also Giant Eagle-esque), either an all chocolate or a yellow cake with white frosting and some kind of custard filling.  I had the chocolate.  The frosting, cake, and filling all had unique tastes.  Different degrees of chocolate-ness.  Together, they reminded me of those Hostess cupcakes.

This is the first fish fry that has disappointed.  Having all-you-can-eat perch sounds nice, but after a salad and my first plate, I had no room for more.  The food was good for the most part, but not $15.95 plus tax good.

Rankings:

  1. American Legion Clifton Post 421
  2. St. Adalbert
  3. Donauschwaben
  4. American Legion Avon Lake Post 211
2 thoughts on “Fish Fryday #4: American Legion Post 211

  1. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your expierence as much as you should have. I just ran across this article today and would like to make it up to you Please Call 440-930-5317 and ask for Tim

    • Tim,

      Thank you for your concern and outreach. That level of effort speaks volumes. There are no bad feelings from me and no need to make it up to me. I understand that a community fish fry is different than an Applebee’s or Friday’s, and that the money goes for a cause.

Leave a Reply

