Last Home Game of the Season

Yesterday, I was lucky enough to enjoy the tribe’s last home game of the season. We lost, but it was still great to be there.

Probably the most special part of the day was the send off to Jim Thome. Acta put him at the third (where he played when he first started with Indians), and played there for one pitch before being pulled out. It was his first appearance at third base in 15 years. He hasn’t decided whether or not he is retiring, but yesterday may have been his last day playing for the Indians in Cleveland.

Thome is special kind of player, and it was amazing that he came back to Cleveland after all those years. When I was kid I almost had one of his home run balls. He hit it onto the steps next to our row, and I jumped for it. I had it trapped underneath on my hands, when the woman sitting behind me literally clawed it out. She got the ball, I got cut up from her fingernails. Boo.

Leave a Reply

